direkt zum Inhalt springen

direkt zum Hauptnavigationsmenü

Sie sind hier

TU Berlin

Inhalt des Dokuments

Es gibt keine deutsche Übersetzung dieser Webseite.

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize for Anja Feldmann

The winners of the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize 2011 [1] have been announced. Among the winners is Anja Feldmann, professor for computer science at TU Berlin. The awards ceremony will be held on 16 March 2011 in Berlin.

Anja Feldmann [2] studied computer science at Universität Paderborn and received her Diplom (equivalent to a master) in 1990. In 1991 she received her M.Sc. and in 1992 her Ph.D. in computer science both from Carnegie Mellon University (CMU in Pittsburg, PA) Thereafter, she interned at Fore Systems and worked at AT&T Bell Laboratories, conducting research in the area of communication software, IP traffic measurement, traffic modeling, and traffic management. Her contributions to multi-fractal characteristics of web traffic and her mathematical models are fundamental and were introduced into AT&T's traffic management.

After being appointed professor at the Universität des Saarlandes, Germany, in 2000, she received offers from ETH Zürich, Swtzerland, Technische Universität (TU) München, Germany and to stay in Saarbrücken. She joined TU München in 2002 heading the Network Architectures group, but changed 2006 to the newly founded T-Labs, a joint-venture between TU Berlin and Deutsche Telekom. Besides heading the research group on Intelligent Networks she is dean of the department of electrical engineering and computer science.

Her scientific interests include:

  • Internet measurements
  • Location network bottlenecks
  • Programmable networks
  • Broadband access evolution
  • ISP-application collaboration
  • Community-inspired optimization
  • Cloud networking

That said, she belongs to the worldwide leading experts on the topic of quantitative monitoring of internet traffic phenomena.

The Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize [3] is the highest honour awarded in German research. The Leibniz Programme, established in 1985, aims to improve the working conditions of outstanding scientists and academics, expand their research opportunities, relieve them of administrative tasks, and help them employ particularly qualified young researchers. A maximum of € 2.5 million is provided per award. Prizewinners are first chosen from a slate of nominations put forward by third parties; the final selection is made by the Joint Committee on the basis of a recommendation from the Leibniz Nominations Committee.


------ Links: ------

Zusatzinformationen / Extras


Schnellnavigation zur Seite über Nummerneingabe

Copyright TU Berlin 2008